Governance of the Georgian Mathematical Union


Roland Duduchava
, Head of the Department of Mathematical Physics of Andrea Razmadze Mathematical Institute, Full Professor at the Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University

Tel.: +995.32.335977 (Office),  +995.55.333.855
Fax: +995.32.364086
eFax: +49.8121.900000630


Web page:

Chairman of the National Committee of the Georgian Mathematical Union:

David Natroshvili, Professor,  Head of Department of Mathematics of the Georgian Technical University
Tel.: +995.32.388186 (Office),   +995.99195171 
eMail: natrosh(at)

Vice President

Giorgi Oniani, Akaki Tsereteli State University Rector, Qutaisi

Tel.:      +995.23143532 (office),  +995.93.240987 (mobile)

eMail: oniani(at) 

Web page:


Vice President

Vladimer Baladze, Head of the Department Mathematics of Shota Rustaveli State University, Batumi

Tel.: +995.93.369609 (mobile)

eMail:  vbaladze(at)

Web page:
                 Curriculum Vitae


Natalia Chinchaladze,   Asistant professor of I. javakhishvili Tbilisi State University, Temporary Deputy Director  of  I. Vekua Institute of Applied Mathematics, Tbilisi

ტელ: +995.32.545995 (office),     +995.93.230738 (mobile)

eMail:  chinchaladze(at)

 Commissions of the Georgian Mathematical Union and their officials

                Brief History of the Georgian Mathematical Union

The Georgian Mathematical Union (GMU, formerly Georgian Mathematical Society) was founded in February 21, 1923. One of it's founders and the first president was Andrea Razmadze. After A. Razmadze's  death in 1929 the Georgian Mathematical Society was inactive until 1962, when it was re-established due to efforts of  V. Kupradze, B. Khvedelidze, L. Gokieli and A. Kharadze . Mathematicians from scientific research institutes, institutions of higher education and secondary schools consolidated in it's ranks.

The mission of the Georgian Mathematical Union is to promote mathematical sciences, especially among the younger generation, to help train professional mathematicians, to defend professional rights of members, to establish and  strengthen contacts with colleagues from abroad and with international organizations such as the International Mathematical Union and the European Mathematical Society. To this end GMU organizes public meetings where novel scientific results are reported and discussed as well as commemoration meetings devoted to the outstanding mathematicians. It considers the burning issues of  mathematical research and teaching of mathematics, collaborates with teachers, participates in consideration of educational standards and  mathematical textbooks.

 The Georgian Mathematical Union organizes the Congresses of mathematicians of Georgia and publishes related materials. Last (fifth) Congress was held in october 9 to 12, 2009 in Batumi and Kutaisi.

Starting from 2010, Georgian Mathematical Union will organize Annual Conferences. First Annual Conference will be held in Batumi September 12 to 19, 2010.

Number of monographs were published under the name of the Georgian Mathematical Union.

The first president of the Georgian Mathematical Society in 1923-1929 was Andrea Razmadze. In 1962 Viktor Kupradze headed revived Society (1962-1966). After him Levan Gokieli (1966-1970), Archil Kharadze (1970-1974) and Levan Magnaradze (1974-1994) led the Society.

In 1990 the Georgian Mathematical Society became one of the founders of the European Mathematical Society and in 1991 joined as a member to the International Mathematical Union. In 1994 it was renamed to the Georgian Mathematical Union. After that David Natroshvili (1994-1997), Roland Duduchava (1997-2001), Temuri Vepkhvadze (2001-2005) and SJondo harikadze (2005-2009) were the presidents of GMU.

The current president of GMU is Roland Duduchava. 

Contact us

Georgian Mathematical Union
Andrea Razmadze Mathematical Institute
M. Alexidze str. 1                                                                                 TBILISI 0193


Tel: +995.(8)32.545995  (Office1)
       +995.(8)32.335977  (Office2)
       +995.(8)55.333.855 (Mob.)                                                                     Emails:  GeorgianMU(at)